Soledad en masa

Drew Magary on loneliness in college

leave a comment »

Drew Magary, an author at one of my favorite websites, published an article this past Thursday on the loneliness he felt at the two colleges he attended. It’s a great read. Here’s an excerpt:

There was a vending machine in the basement of South Quad, and I remember going down there frequently, mostly because I was fat and hungry, but also because I was secretly hoping to meet someone along the way. A girl. A friend. A Hare Krishna. Anyone. I didn’t care. I just wanted someone to talk to.

The terrible part about being lonely isn’t the isolation. It’s the feeling, deep down in your guts, that you will ALWAYS be isolated, and that you deserve it. I couldn’t make friends at Michigan, and each day I went without making a connection I felt more like I would NEVER make friends with anyone. Ever. And being alone that long made it feel as if everyone was right to ignore me. My loneliness was a kind of perverted validation of my unworthiness as someone to socialize with. I couldn’t make friends. Obviously, there had to be a reason for that. Perhaps many of them. Perhaps so many that they could never be rectified.

Written by soledadenmasa

February 18, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Posted in College, Personal

Leave a Reply

