Soledad en masa

South Gate MS circa 1993

leave a comment »

The Internet is a treasure trove of gifts from the past. Here’s one of those: the video yearbook for the South Gate Middle School (then Junior High) class of 1993. I can’t… This is just beautiful. It’s nine parts long! Below is the first part.

It’s an interesting look into the past of South Gate and shows a lot of the characteristics of the local schools I noticed when I started school but never told anyone because I didn’t posses the verbal skills to express myself then. A large number of the teachers and administrators were white, while almost all of the student body was Latino. There were attempts to culturally reach the students and their parents, though they amounted to nothing more than symbolic inclusion of certain folk songs and dances in school assemblies.

Nevertheless, these videos are a window into what they thought important enough to catalog in a video. I don’t know what I would have put in a video if I had made a similar one, but I have a feeling that I would probably feel no nostalgia if I saw it today, as I no felt no nostalgia when I saw my high school yearbook a month ago for the first time in three years.

If you want to see the rest of the videos, see the YouTube channel.

Written by soledadenmasa

September 18, 2010 at 9:00 am

Posted in South Gate

Leave a Reply

