Soledad en masa

Return, IV

with 3 comments

I took that trip to Harvard last month as a vacation of sorts from work and Los Angeles, to visit a friend, and to fulfill the final part of the process of returning to Harvard. It gave me something to look forward when I was at work, bored out of my mind or frustrated with dealing with customers. Thankfully, I was cut from work the Friday before my trip; I didn’t have to lie to them about why I was leaving for a week. My employers didn’t know my educational history; they hired me through a temporary work agency and never mentioned my education.

There were moments when I resisted the idea of returning to Harvard, either because I felt that it wasn’t for me or because I felt that my educational interests could be better met at another institution. In this year-and-a-half away, I did a lot of soul-searching and ultimately came away with the answers I needed to justify continuing my education, especially at the same place I had left in the middle of the semester the previous year.

There were moments when I wanted to become part of that two percent of students who don’t graduate from Harvard, but I ultimately saw that the life I want to lead is near impossible without an academic degree.

Si Dios me da licencia, estaré de nuevo en Harvard el 31 de agosto, listo para empezar el año escolar el día siguiente.

This post will be published about an hour before my plane is due to land in Boston. I’m giving it another try at Harvard. Let’s see if I can complete my education in my fell swoop or if I will be one of the non-traditional students, who studies for a while then takes a leave to work, only to repeat the cycle.

Updates will clearly become irregular once again, but more substantial. If I do join one of the different papers or magazines, I’ll make sure to post my articles here.

Written by soledadenmasa

August 31, 2010 at 3:00 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dude i had sort of forgotten about your blog
    but right now as i write this im in one of my insomnia phases where i feel that the world is quiet at night well at least in Los Angeles and my creative juices can flow.
    So i ran across your blog and im glad i did
    muy bien que decidiste regresar a Harvard
    echale ganas man your one of the “lucky” few.

    and by “lucky” i mean im sure youve heard it before.

    its when preparation meets opportunity now thats luck and being lucky.

    hey things are hard and times are difficult but nothing is impossible.
    ive had alot of psychotherapy lol

    i get the impression that you think alot, are you a libra like me? or a pisces they tend to be daydreamers.
    anyways you got to try to eliminate- fear, doubt and worry. i know easier said than done.
    Because the last thing you want is regrets.

    ok sorry about my ramblings🙂

    so go on and get all that “theory” aka book smarts so you can have a lifetime to put it into “practice” aka street smarts.

    cuidate

    loveandhatela

    September 7, 2010 at 1:35 am

  2. Thanks a lot for reading, man. I am also a Libra. I guess we’re naturally introspective.

    soledadenmasa

    September 10, 2010 at 10:14 pm

  3. “i get the impression that you think alot, are you a libra like me? or a pisces they tend to be daydreamers.
    anyways you got to try to eliminate- fear, doubt and worry. i know easier said than done.
    Because the last thing you want is regrets”

    I love this quote I am a Pisces and I do get like that, that is right on point. Once I just do it and stop thinking so hard about something its not that bad.
    Good Luck at Harvard I am sure it is a hard transition me even going to a CSU was a transition so i can imagine you just….remember you got an advantage over all them you are not only smart but like the dude above said you are street smart and that is equally important.

    dona junta

    November 12, 2010 at 2:36 pm


Leave a Reply

