Soledad en masa

#656

with 4 comments

Frankly, you’re overqualified for this position.

I’m tired of hearing or reading that as a response to my job applications. I don’t have a Bachelor’s Degree, how the heck am I overqualified.  Why the hell won’t you consider me further?

WHY?

Give me a reason. I mean it. At least tell me why I’m overqualified. Is it because I enrolled at Harvard and I’m taking time off? It’s just a name; I can do everything a current Cal State or UC student can do, with the added bonus that I’m not studying at the time.

Give me a reason.

Written by soledadenmasa

February 24, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Posted in College, Personal

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do what everyone else does when applying for jobs… Lie. The only difference is that instead of making yourself seem more edumacated, you have to dumb yourself down… Administrator’s like to feel like they’re smarter than you, so that they may “manage” you… if they think you’re smarter than them they feel it’s not good for their own job security… lol

    Elyery

    February 24, 2010 at 9:30 pm

  2. Why not just leave the Harvard part out? Thats always an option.

    HispanicPundit

    February 24, 2010 at 9:50 pm

  3. HP,
    I need to account for the time since finishing high school. I graduated three years ago.

    Elyery,
    I can’t and won’t lie about it.

    soledadenmasa

    February 25, 2010 at 11:24 am

  4. First off, what position are you applying for?
    Maybe you are looking too low…

    estacaramba

    March 6, 2010 at 2:49 am


Leave a Reply

