Soledad en masa

Bookselling

with one comment

With my return from Harvard, I decided that it was a good time for me to sell many of my books online. At the same time, my older brother came to the same conclusion, but found himself without the time to sell and ship books himself. I am our bookseller. Right now, we’re selling around sixty books and might put more on sale later, once I’ve read some of them or he decides to part ways with more books. Before returning, I sold some books to used bookstores in Cambridge and I was able to sell only three books for very measly prices. I checked the prices of those books on Amazon a few weeks back. I lost out on over forty dollars profit because I was shortsighted.

Selling books online has become my source of income in the past month. They’ve been on Amazon for two weeks and three books have already sold. I’ve had good luck with my deliveries. So far, no packages of mine have been lost or delayed by the USPS. I did some research and found that all my packages leave Los Angeles through the Los Angeles Bulk Mail Center (BMC) in Bell. Further research led to discovering the L.A. BMC’s bad reputation for delaying packages, sending packages the wrong direction, and losing them completely. I worry about lost packages because I don’t want to lose any single cent of the profit. Book selling is a minimal source of income right now and pretty fun. I enjoy the walks to and from the post office. It’s a very good and relaxing exercise.

With each order placed, I’ve checked out where the book is headed (It’s my own way to see if it’s going to be in good hands). The books have gone far in the U.S.: lower Louisiana, North Carolina, and my latest shipment is headed towards some office park in rural southern Ohio. The most recent book is Chicana Falsa. I was apprehensive about selling the books online because of the security risks involved with my accounts, but it was a risk I willingly took.

NOTE: As expected, my stats have increased since Monday. This is sweet. I’m now averaging fifty visits each day.

Written by soledadenmasa

July 15, 2009 at 3:00 am

Posted in Books, Personal

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Selling your books will also be useful when it comes to moving. I rarely move, but I hear packing and carrying boxes full of books is quite taxing.

    Glad to see you back to regular blogging.

    cindylu

    July 15, 2009 at 11:40 pm


Leave a Reply

