Soledad en masa

‘Cuz I’m bored: 25 things about me

with 3 comments

It’s been going around Facebook for so long that it finally reached me. These are fun, I’m bored, and I’m willing to share the following facts.

* * *

Rules: Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose up to 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you.

(To do this, go to “notes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag up to 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.)

25 Random Things:

1. My first guitar was bought ten years ago in what was then the Lynwood Marketplace, now Plaza México. It’s from Paracho, Michoacán.

2. I don’t want to own an automobile until it becomes an absolute necessity. Until then, I’ll use public transportation & my two feet.

3. When I do own an automobile, I want it to be an American pickup truck of any model year before 1992. I’m installing a Flowmaster.

4. I’ll be the asshole with the too-loud/illegal Flowmaster, nice rims, tinted windows, and sound system blasting rancheras/banda/norteñas/whatever La Que Buena plays who revs the motor whenever possible.

5. I want a Class A Drivers License from the state of California. I want the option of driving a big rig, just because.

6. I joined my first mariachi in 2000. It was my middle school’s.

7. The middle school mariachi played for a lot of school and LAUSD functions. One time, we played for the LAUSD Board, then went to Philippe’s for dinner. A KCAL 9 camera crew was there, saw usin our trajes, and asked us what we were doing. Later that night, we were on the ten o’clock news. That’s when I found out we performed as a protest against proposed budget cuts to arts programs in the LAUSD.

8. One of the men in the camera crew supported us financially for about a year, getting us all new moños, funding, and a sweet deal on hotel rooms next to the Tucson Convention Center when we attended the 2003 Tucson Mariachi Conference. We were on the 9th floor, above many members of Mariachi Los Camperos & a few floors away from the Penthouse Floor, where José Ronstadt & Nati Cano were staying.

9. I met Pablo Montero. His twin brother is much cooler.

10. In 2003, the middle school mariachi attended practices for Mariachi USA. We were going to play the first song with about ten other mariachi groups. The instructors of the practices were mariachis who were trained by my mariachi teacher when he was a teacher in El Sereno Middle School in the mid-1990s. We came to the conclusion that he hadn’t changed much in almost ten years.

11. I almost fell off the Hollywood Bowl’s rotating stage after performing for Mariachi USA. I was one of the taller guitarists and I had to stand on the edge. The stage jolted into movement to bring us backstage and I almost fell. Good times.🙂

12. My third grade teacher often said, “¿Preguntas? ¿Comentarios? ¿Chismes?” I really liked it and sometimes say it.

13. Her niece was in my middle school & private mariachi founded after middle school.

14. I cannot listen to musical recordings of myself. Me da cosa.

15. I learned most mariachi songs in high school by ear and forgot how to read sheet music. I’m slowly working on improving that. However, it’s very easy for me to figure out mariachi songs’ keys & chord changes because I learned the most common cues and I know how the guitarron’s notes shift.

16. I was News Editor of my high school’s newspaper for the two years I was part of the newspaper. I miss the times & conversations that could only occur in Ms. Murillo’s room.

17. I love South Gate way too much. I want to return after college & see the city succeed.

18. I miss performing mariachi each weekend, making money and having fun. What I especially miss is playing mariachi mass, not because it’s the easiest hour to play, but because it is an honor for strangers to ask me to be part of their holy and special ceremony.

19. Often, people figure out my parents are from Jalisco because I say ‘amá, ‘apá, abuelito & abuelita. One person even figured it out my family was from el municipio de Tepatitlán because I slipped in “pader” instead of “pared”.

20. I want the learn to play the following instruments: bajosexto, bajoquinto, banjo, accordion (both button & piano). I also want to get back to playing the electric bass and play it like Hernán from Los Tigres del Norte.

21. I have huaraches that I wear the moment I get back to my room until I go to bed. I only wear closed shoes outside. If my classmates can go to class in flip flops, I’ll go in huaraches. Huaracheando en Harvard.🙂

22. I’ve been told that I’m too Mexican. I don’t see that as a bad thing. Why should I be/act in a fashion that you deem is “right?”

23. When I was 15, someone thought I was 22 because of my facial hair. I’m not shaving my mustache.

24. I’ve been told I have my great-grandmother’s eyes.

25. I want to work for La Que Buena or La Ranchera 930 in any way possible.

26. (I know I’m cheating) One of the most fun weekends I’ve had in college was composed of walking through Boston Common, the Public Garden & Commonwealth Ave., followed by the Tegan & Sara concert.

Written by soledadenmasa

February 9, 2009 at 1:41 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I call my mom ‘ama’ as well, and we be from the north. My grandma was also just ‘abue’.

    Huaraches are like the best footwear ever, a mix of closed shoe and a slipper. They are my house shoes as well, though my current pair has a llanta ponchada and the sole is loose in front, which leads to constant tripping. I’m gonna fall and kill myself one of these days. I’d best get a new pair, and soon!

    I started working on one of these 25 posts, but I chickened out. Maybe I’ll finish it …

    EL CHAVO!

    February 9, 2009 at 2:45 am

  2. You should call your eventual memoir “Huaracheando en Harvard” BRILLIANT. Also, nosotros en Jerez also say “pader” once in a while. Given that we’re so close to Jalisco, not much of a surprise, huh?

    Gustavo Arellano

    February 21, 2009 at 2:17 pm

  3. You had Ms. Murrilo as well? She was a great English teacher. Loved her class…

    S.G. resident

    February 25, 2014 at 12:03 am


Leave a Reply

