Soledad en masa

Madre mía de Guadalupe, ¡por tu religión me van a matar!

leave a comment »

I try to keep my religious beliefs to myself, but there are times when I cannot. Often, it’s around Thanksgiving (el día de Santa Cecilia) or today, December 12th, that I give in to emotions and feel I must. I’m not much of a Catholic, but there’s something about la Virgen that transcends feelings about the Catholic Church. It’s probably the fusion of religions and national sentiment. Back in high school with my former mariachi, I played misas often. Here, I miss the weekly performances, but what I miss most is playing misas because they allow me to be part of someone’s special day, especially inside la iglesia.

I’ve wanted to research my family history and learn if any of my relatives (however distant) were part of la rebelión cristera in Jalisco. This song, Valentín de la Sierra, is a corrido that really doesn’t have much to do with this day, except for the line I put as the title of this post. Only Antonio Aguilar does this song justice.

Written by soledadenmasa

December 12, 2008 at 6:30 am

Posted in Family, Mariachi, Music, Religion

Leave a Reply

