Soledad en masa

Tegan and Sara

with 3 comments

This past Saturday I went to a Tegan and Sara concert in Worcester, Massachusetts. My friend had a pair of tickets and needed someone to go with her who knew how to go around Massachusetts (she flew in for the concert) and I more than happily obliged. I’ll admit, I had never consciously heard their music before the concert. Besides, I am more accustomed to Miguel y Miguel or beyond-the-grave Chalino-Lupillo duets. I really didn’t know what to expect, but since I’ve decided to keep an open mind about music, I went to the concert.

The show started five minutes early, at 6:55. I sat down in our balcony seats (floor was full) five minutes before the show started. The opening act was Girl in a Coma. They were… forgettable. Yes, they are the opening act and played for only thirty minutes, but even then, their music just wasn’t that good. Too much beating on the snare drum and straight eighth notes on the guitar and bass. They were followed by Dallas Green, of City and Colour. His acoustic set was short as well. He has a really good voice and great songs, but he sang too many songs with what sounded like a whimper, which always gets on my nerves. After his half-hour set, it was time for Tegan and Sara to come on-stage.

I was blown away.

Their music is good, really good. I don’t know why I had not listened to them before (well, I do, but I’m not going to share it). Though we were in the balcony, the energy of the music reached all the way up and it was a really good feeling. They didn’t just go up and play music and get out; they put on a full show and made the audience a part of the show. They made their show accessible even to n00bs like myself.

Though I was not singing along to the songs like half the audience, I did recognize about a third of their songs and that made it better. I’m not going to review music that I don’t know anything about (and I’m not getting paid for, either). If you’d like to see videos from the show, click here.

Apparently, this is their last tour before going into the studio and recording their new album. Way after the show, my friend and I started talking about them (mostly about how good a show it was) and she started to raise doubts about them. She told me that she didn’t like thinking that they were almost thirty (no one over thirty can be trusted) and really hoped their new album was not going to be radically different because of their age. Jokingly, I suggested their next album will be a Christmas album. Hey, they have to adapt to their maturing audience!

The new album won’t be released until late 2009 and it might be a year after that they return to the U.S. on tour. I was glad I was able to experience one of their shows. Maybe next time they are on tour, I’ll catch a show (and invite my friend to return the favor). I know my friend had a lot of fun at the concert (it was her birthday present to herself). But for now, I guess I’ll have to depend on YouTube to hear their music. Maybe I’ll convince my friend to send me copies of their CDs…

All images taken by and used with the permission of my friend. To see more pictures, visit her Flickr account.

Written by soledadenmasa

October 7, 2008 at 10:23 pm

Posted in College, Music, Travel

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Even though they might be getting a wee bit old, I still think they are super cute.
    Concert was kick ass!

    Carmen H.

    October 7, 2008 at 10:33 pm

  2. I really liked Girl In A Coma. Maybe it’s the Chicana connection, or maybe their live show is not as great as their debut album? Quien sabe.

    I do like Tegan and Sara, but not too familiar with their music as a whole. What I have heard, I really like too.

    cindylu

    October 12, 2008 at 1:46 am

  3. Carmen,
    If they do release a Christmas album, I’ll take you to Canada. Ok?

    Cindylu,
    Their music just seemed like the Ramones — good in the studio, not so good live.

    soledadenmasa

    October 12, 2008 at 8:58 pm


Leave a Reply

