Soledad en masa

Gente bella

with 2 comments

I decided to check out some newspapers from Jalisco to check up on news and see the goings on of my ancestral home state. I’m considering spending next summer in Guadalajara or in México, so it’s a good way to keep in touch. I was reading a feature on Los Altos de Jalisco and was dismayed at what I read in the first sentence.

Seriously, one would think that years after living as an actual México, the colonial way of thought would be gone.

Written by soledadenmasa

August 3, 2008 at 6:39 pm

Posted in Politics, Random, Religion

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not denying that the whole “light skin is good” colonial mentality exists, but there are a disproportionate number of fair-skinned people in Jalisco. I know because my family is one of them, full of gueros with ojos azules y verdes.

    Story of my life: I speak Spanish to brown people. A look of shock and amusement. A brief exchange: “De donde es tu familia?” “De Jalisco.” “Ooohhhh….” as in, “Now it all makes sense.”

    Chicana Skies

    August 6, 2008 at 4:15 pm

  2. Aren’t people from Guadalajara known for being fair skinned and more European?
    There are so many fair skinned, blond hair/blue eyed actors in novelas and on TV, eventually people will come to associate these traits with standards of beauty. Not that it’s cool or anything to have such a narrow definition of attractiveness. It’s sad how colonialism still rears it’s ugly head.

    chimatli

    August 6, 2008 at 11:36 pm


Leave a Reply

