Soledad en masa

Extirpación

with one comment

I’ve begun deleting old pages that I maintained at a number of websites because they’re no longer of use to me. I deleted my LiveJournal account a few days ago and in a few weeks it will be completely gone. I deleted my Photobucket account, which I have not used since mid-2006. My Last.FM page is gone (there’s no use in tracking what I listen) and I deleted my Muxtape page within hours of getting it. I’ve had three MySpace accounts since I first got one in 2005. I deleted the first one in mid-2006, then got a second one in late-2006 and deleted earlier this year, and in a few days I’ll delete the third one, which I started in March of this year. Other pages at other websites have disappeared along with the website, which makes my job easier.

All these pages are worthless to me. At LJ I posted only things which I could not access because of filters, at Photobucket I had pictures of me in high school that have no reason to be up on the Internet anymore. I don’t use my MySpace to stay in contact with anyone from high school – most of those with whom I will keep in touch I have as friends on Facebook.

The only page I am keeping from high school is my page at Melodramatic. Pages at Melo cannot be deleted, but what I have done is moved all the posts at that site to private and there is nothing of me there. Melo was my journal before I moved to Blogger, then WordPress. I was introduced to it by a now-ex and I wrote in it all throughout our relationship, slowly writing less after we ended and as WordPress proved better. It’s a snapshot into my last two years of high school and I have decided against deleting all my posts in that site. If I ever want to look back at time, I can just log in and read my posts.

These sites probably remain cached somewhere or seen through the Internet Archive, but as far I care, they’re gone.

Moving on from the past has been extremely difficult in some aspects, but I am sure that I am doing the right thing. I’m 18 going on 19, will start my second year at college, and will spend most of August in México, not only spending time with family, but searching for something.

Full steam ahead.

Written by soledadenmasa

July 21, 2008 at 6:00 am

Posted in Random, Summer

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hey!! Vas para Mezcala este agosto?
    Para que días, primero Dios yo andaré por allá como para el 20!

    Ch

    July 21, 2008 at 3:40 am


Leave a Reply

