Soledad en masa

Warm weather, good music

with 5 comments

This past week has had some good spring weather. I’m now wearing shorts and sleeping with the windows open! Alas, I fear it will get hotter. Hotter in Boston means more humid, which blows.:\

Today I woke up listening to the Tom Tom Club, in particular, “Woody Rappinghood” and “Genius of Love.” I have to admit, before my mariachi concert this past Saturday, I played “Genius of Love” for a few minutes, just mouthing the words. I had no idea its video was so… cartoonish. Listening to it reminds of old school hip hop.

Written by soledadenmasa

April 24, 2008 at 12:55 pm

Posted in Music

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope you got my voice mail.

    You need to read this article: The Politics of Hip-Hop, Josh Kun, “What Is an MC If He Can’t Rap to Banda? Making Music in Nuevo L.A.,” American Quarterly vol. 56, no. 3

    Carina

    April 24, 2008 at 8:33 pm

  2. I was in New York two years ago when it was hot and humid; man that was the worst feeling ever! Give me good old dry LA heat anyday.

    EL CHAVO!

    April 24, 2008 at 10:22 pm

  3. This track used to be a piece musical flotsam that I would run across all the time on Power 106 when I was a wee kid. What’s amazing about this track is that it’s been pretty widely sampled since its 1981 release. And that it had connections to the Talking Heads was a bonus. I could see why David Byrne wasn’t a part of this, though. Easily one of the cutest odes to sex, drugs, and street life ever.

    tirado

    April 25, 2008 at 3:08 pm

  4. Yeah, this whole winter I’ve been like, “I can’t wait til summer!!” and then I came to realize that alas, summer here means sticky-ness and sancudos. 😦 Boo! Not a whole lot to look forward to there.
    But yeah, definitely enjoying these nice days here on the East Coast. The sun feels warm.

    Chicana Skies

    April 25, 2008 at 3:27 pm

  5. Carina,
    I will, in due time.

    Chavo,
    Humidity sucks, but I think dry heat that can be made worse by forest fires sucks more.

    Tirado,
    Same thing here! I would hear this song in a lot of older hip hop records and I had no idea where it was from until 2004, when I ran across this song somewhere (don’t remember).

    CS,
    Zancudos? GAH. I’ll put up with it, I guess…

    soledadenmasa

    April 26, 2008 at 11:38 pm


Leave a Reply

