Soledad en masa

Video of the week: Grítenme piedras del campo

with 3 comments

The first time I heard Cuco Sánchez’s “Grítenme piedras del campo,” it was on Linda Ronstadt’s 1991 album Más canciones. It really stuck with me because of Linda’s voice. I wasn’t sure what she was saying (I was eight!) but I knew I liked her voice.

As I started learning mariachi music and better understanding the lyrics of the song, I began to cherish this song more and more. The similes Sánchez uses throughout the song are phenomenal, some of the best I’ve heard in many similar rancheras. What also stuck with me was the key change in the middle of the song when males sing a verse of the lyrics. I’ve always enjoyed that key change. Mariachi Los Camperos did a great job backing her in this song. Kudos to them. Here’s the video, introduced by Paul Rodríguez:

Soy como el viento que corre
Alrededor de éste mundo
Ando entre muchos placeres
Ando entre muchos placeres
Pero no es suyo ninguno.

Soy como el pájaro en jaula
Preso y hundido en tu amor
Aunque la jaula sea de oro
Aunque la jaula sea de oro
No deja de ser prisión.

Háblenme montes y valles
Grítenme piedras del campo.
Cuando habian visto en la vida
Querer como estoy queriendo
llorar como estoy llorando
Morir como estoy muriendo.

A veces me siento un sol
Y el mundo me importa nada
Luego despierto y me rio
Luego despierto y me rio
Soy mucho menos que nada.

Al fin soy en éste mundo
Como una pluma en el aire
Sin rumbo voy por la vida
Sin rumbo voy por la vida
Y de éso tú eres culpable.

Háblenme montes y valles
Grítenme piedras del campo.
Cuando habian visto en la vida
Querer como estoy queriendo
llorar como estoy llorando
Morir como estoy muriendo.

Written by soledadenmasa

April 8, 2008 at 8:02 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wanted to sing one of her renditions of classics during karaoke last week. Preferably “Hay Unos Ojos,” but I chose something more pop-ish.

    cindylu

    April 9, 2008 at 4:11 am

  2. Aunque la jaula sea de oro
    No deja de ser prisión

    Me encanta la letra de esta cacion, y la voz de Linda le da un toque unico.

    chFROMmz

    April 17, 2008 at 3:55 am

  3. Cindy,
    you should have sang “Hay unos ojos.” Ignore pop.🙂

    Ch,
    A mí también me encanta la letra de esta canción. Cuco Sánchez en verdad fue un gran compositor.

    soledadenmasa

    April 22, 2008 at 1:08 pm


Leave a Reply

