Soledad en masa

So much good news!

with 6 comments

Cabot House shield
  1. Last night I found out one of my friends back in high school was accepted at UCLA and UChicago. I wish her and her family the best when choosing.
  2. Today in the morning I got into Cabot House, which is in the Quad! I’m so happy!
  3. I got an email from the Cabot House master as an official welcome. The email included this snippet: “Cabot came in first among all the houses in student satisfaction on last year’s senior satisfaction survey.” I’m in the happiest house!
  4. Though I floated, my roommates and half my entryway is also in the Quad, though most are in Currier. I’m happy.
  5. I checked my mail today and I got a letter from Cabot House and I also got my order of Pedro Páramo y El llano en llamas. I think I might read them during Spring Break.

I’m so happy that Spring Break is almost here! Though I have to do financial aid forms on Saturday, I’m ready to rest and apply to jobs.

Written by soledadenmasa

March 20, 2008 at 11:25 am

Posted in College, Harvard, Random

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pedro Páramo is seriously one of the coolest novels I have read! Juan Rulfo is brilliant and I’m hoping to write like him one day. There is so much depth in that book, I suggest you take your time, even though it is very short. In fact, I should be reading it right now since I have a critique next week due for it when I go back to CSUN.

    (procrastinating)

    Tania

    March 21, 2008 at 2:03 pm

  2. Tania,
    You mentioned it in one of your blog posts and I thought, “I should buy it and read it!” One week later, I received it. I’m on Spring Break once I finish a story I’m writing in Spanish, so I think I can spend all of Sunday and Monday reading Pedro Páramo. ¡Rulfo es jalisciense! Get back to reading.

    soledadenmasa

    March 21, 2008 at 3:16 pm

  3. Listed your blog today as one of our blogs of note, enjoy your blog.

    Leesee

    March 21, 2008 at 4:22 pm

  4. D,

    Yes, Rulfo es Jalisciense. And his most famous novel takes takes place in Comala, Jalisco. Have been a huge fan of Rulfo since my high school days here in H.P.

    During one of my trips to the Feria Internacional del Mariachi in Guadalajara, I even stopped by the Plaza de la Rotunda Jalisciense de los Hombres Ilustres where Rulfo has a prominent place, next to the world-renown architect Luis Barragan.

    One of the highlights of the Feria Internacional del Libro de Guadalajara, one of the largest book fairs in Latin America, is announcing the year’s winner of the Juan Rulfo award (this before Rulfo’s family sued the organizers).

    During a lecture at the feria I heard a profe from the U de G declare that the Pedro Paramo was influenced by James Joyce, the Irish writer.

    Also check out the tune by the internationally acclaimed Instituto Mexicano del Sonido with their cool song titled “Juan Rulfo” with a kickin’ raspa and a hypnotic drum beat accompanying words from one of Rulfo’s short stories, “Diles que no me maten!” (Tell them not to kill me!). This is how the short story starts:

    “-¡Diles que no me maten, Justino! Anda, vete a decirles eso. Que por caridad. Así diles. Diles que lo hagan por caridad.
    -No puedo. Hay allí un sargento que no quiere oír hablar nada de ti.
    -Haz que te oiga. Date tus mañas y dile que para sustos ya ha estado bueno. Dile que lo haga por caridad de Dios.
    -No se trata de sustos. Parece que te van a matar de a de veras. Y yo ya no quiero volver allá.”

    The tone, cadence, collouialisms and simple syntax is classic Spanish spoken only in the provincial highlands of Jalisco. My grandfather spoke exactly like this.

    Reading Rulfo’s biography many years ago I learned that his love of language developed from a critical incident during the Cristero revolution in Jalisco. The town priest was warned that Federales were on their way to get him. He left town with only the clothes on his back, but his most treasured possession, a huge library collection, was entrusted to Juan Rulfo’s family. Rulfo was just a boy about 10 years old. The Cristero insurgency was brutally beat down with many killings in the streets, and symbolic bodies left hanging from trees and all over town, so little boys like Rulfo did not venture outside, and thanks to the priest’s books, lost himself reading James Joyce, and other classics. Pedro Paramo is a result of that singular transformative experience.

    By the way, when I call sources to dig up material for investigative reports, my nome de investigador is “Juan Rulfo”; Virtually no one ever gets it.

    Enjoy Rulfo.

    The Editor,

    WatchOurCity.com

    The editor

    March 23, 2008 at 4:37 am

  5. D,

    Forgot to mention about Rulfo’s son, the Mexican director Juan Carlos Rulfo.

    Check out his 2006 documentary on the construction of an elevated freeway in Mexico City. “En El Hoyo” is masterfully done (www.enelhoyo.com.mx), with several original music compositions using sound from the construction site which are looped into mesmerizing sounds; remarkably highly original.

    This film garnered several international prizes.

    Regards,

    The editor,

    WatchOurCity.com

    The editor

    March 23, 2008 at 6:22 pm

  6. Yes, my book list also includes Ines Arredondo, who hails from Sinaloa just like yours truly (well, mi familia). 2008 is the year of literature! GO us.

    Jalisco+Sinaloa for world peace… yes sirrr.

    Tania

    March 25, 2008 at 1:51 am


Leave a Reply

