Soledad en masa

BONUS Video of the week: La noche que Chicago murió

with 6 comments

This is why I love YouTube! I’m able to remember any old song, type in the title, and I will most likely find at least three different versions of the song! I’m feeling old school this week, but when don’t I?

I just found the song “La noche que Chicago murió.” I haven’t heard this song in over ten years! It was popular in the mid-1990s (maybe also the early-1990s). I remember the video clearly; I always knew it was in black and white. Who doesn’t remember listening to La X (¡noventa y siete-punto-nueve!) and bumping this song in between quebraditas and Banda Vallarta Show? Anyway, I’m too giddy because of this video. Here it is. Enjoy!

Written by soledadenmasa

March 12, 2008 at 12:48 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maybe they could remake the video and have either nortenos/bandas/gruperos/rockeros/ or cholo rappers snuff out some duranguenses.

    urbanleftbehind

    March 12, 2008 at 11:49 am

  2. Aw! This makes me feel like I’m 12/13 again. I remember the quebradita craza. Good times!

    cindylu

    March 14, 2008 at 2:43 am

  3. Actually, I think this is a Spanish cover of an old song from the 70’s, no? It was by a British band called “Paper Lace”, from 1974. I remember hearing a Spanish version in the first Latin Grammys, it was so weird…

    heywhatsup

    March 14, 2008 at 3:54 pm

  4. You, my friend, are a SLEUTH. And it is a remake, heywhatsup: I once did a story about the worst Mexican remakes of English-language songs (others included “A Todos Bailar Quebradita” to the tune of “Funkytown” and Rogelio Martinez’s “Tú y Yo” to Shania Twain’s “Your Still the One”), and Chicago was near the top!

    Gustavo Arellano

    March 16, 2008 at 10:43 am

  5. Urbanleftbehind,
    Though I thoroughly dislike durangüense and hope that genre goes into oblivion soon, I don’t want to “snuff out” any of the musicians. The cartels have begun that… Look at Sergio Gómez from K-Paz! Pobrecito.

    Cindylu,
    I want to go back to those times where I didn’t care about much…

    Heywhatsup,
    Hey, what’s up? [I couldn’t resist.] Like Gustavo above me said, it is a remake of an English song by Paper Lace. Some Mexican rock band redid it sometime in the 1970s and Banda Toro recorded this version sometime in the 1990s.

    Gustavo,
    Thanks for the compliment. Do you have a link to the article?

    soledadenmasa

    March 16, 2008 at 3:29 pm

  6. I hated that when I heard a cool duranguense song I would end up hearing the “original” later that night on the oldies station (LaPasion 106.7 fm in Chicago). Proof I came up in an Americanized home.

    urbanleftbehind

    March 17, 2008 at 11:17 am


Leave a Reply

