Soledad en masa

Yearning

with 7 comments

Today I’ve felt nothing but a feeling to be back in South Gate. I want Mexican food (¡Birria y buche!), to walk down the streets of the city I grew up (I already feel such a disconnect already), where I hear Spanish everywhere and feel comfortable. Where I can play my music loudly and proudly and not have to worry about annoying those around me (much). I’ve been listening to Los Panchos and have been doing my Spanish work VERY slowly for the past four hours. I began looking into plane tickets to go back home for a few days during Spring Break, but so far, they seem too expensive. I’ll look into flying out of Providence, Rhode Island, on Southwest, but I don’t want to take a bus to Providence… Plus, Southwest makes so many stops on the way and I would probably not be able to have food, like the last time I flew on Southwest (from Providence to San Antonio).

I have many ideas and want them to come to fruition. I feel they would improve things at Harvard and I have begun voicing a few, but have faced opposition from a number of people. Too radical, some say. They’re not radical enough, I say. I have a very clear mindset about a number of things but I’m the only who understands or supports the ideas. I have to find my niche. I’ll start looking at workers’ right groups throughout Boston. I haven’t seen many around Harvard (maybe I should look harder) but I’m sure they’re around in Cambridge/Somerville/Jamaica Plain.

Written by soledadenmasa

February 17, 2008 at 1:32 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Diego:

    Oh man, do I ever remember having moments like these, especially in the dead of many a pinche Boston winter. All I did was keep pining for L.A. And that was especially after being so psyched about being in Boston, it being exactly where I was meant to be, and not understanding what the hell was wrong with everybody else.

    All of which to say, finding community can be tough, but it’s doable.

    I don’t know what direction you’re thinking about politically, but there are some places to consider to get a feel for what moves you. One such place: Encuentro 5. They host a number of organizing movements and give them space and resources to build momentum and address numerous issues from various angles. The Boston area is rich in activists and groups, sometimes to a fault.

    Anyway, check out http://www.encuentro5.org

    Suerte!

    tirado

    February 18, 2008 at 9:25 pm

  2. Thanks a lot, Tirado.

    soledadenmasa

    February 19, 2008 at 12:27 am

  3. You’re welcome. To your question: yeah, I’m still in Boston. I work over at Tufts, and live in Jamaica Plain.

    tirado

    February 19, 2008 at 1:39 pm

  4. I’ve never tried buche. Now whenever I hear that word, I think of a friend who nicknamed his niece Buche. Odd, no? Hope you find some real Mexican food soon.

    And good luck with those ideas.

    cindylu

    February 20, 2008 at 3:36 am

  5. Who nicknames their niece Buche? That’s just messed up. Hahaha. It would be like nicknaming her Pork Chop or something. I’m getting hungry….

    soledadenmasa

    February 20, 2008 at 12:36 pm

  6. Admittedly, calling a kid ‘Suadero’ would be kind of funny.

    Damn, gotta figure out where to find good butcher-style Mexican meat markets are in Boston, otherwise I’ll be wanting to eat my young.

    P.S. I’ve heard some good things about La Verdad, where they’ve actually ventured into serving tripas.

    tirado

    February 20, 2008 at 4:13 pm

  7. My friend, D. That’s who. He’s not a bad guy, just has interesting nicknames. He loves buche, he loves his niece…

    cindylu

    February 21, 2008 at 2:26 am


Leave a Reply

