Soledad en masa

Solitario.

with 10 comments

Currently I am in finals period and I’ve been in Harvard since the 4th for the beginning of reading period. In that span of time, two of my roommates have received care packages in the mail, full of food and goodies to make it through the end of finals period.

I have not received anything in the mail from my parents (not even what I asked them to forward to me, my absentee ballot). This fits in perfectly with my family’s mantra of “aguantate, cabrón”.

Written by soledadenmasa

January 16, 2008 at 5:54 pm

Posted in College, Family, Harvard, Random

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. when you comment others blogs dont be a fucking dick because your site is fucking crap

    Be nice

    January 16, 2008 at 7:48 pm

  2. Hi! How did you find me, Mr/Ms San Fernando Valley? Through Guanabee?

    soledadenmasa

    January 16, 2008 at 8:16 pm

  3. I went four years without even a letter, much less a whole package. Corresponding just wasn’t something my family did. I hope your roommates like you enough to share.

    notoriouslig

    January 16, 2008 at 8:21 pm

  4. LIG,
    My roommates do share, but I feel real uncomfortable taking some. I only asked about receiving my absentee ballot and financial aid forms, but some obleas con cajeta would be nice. Oh well.

    soledadenmasa

    January 16, 2008 at 8:38 pm

  5. Your absentee ballot has not arrived, neither your financial aid forms–I was there on Monday night.

    fabian

    January 17, 2008 at 2:39 am

  6. My parents never really did anything special for finals, they just left me alone. The best things were the random times when my mom would make some dish I really liked and they’d come over to my apartment to drop it off.

    How much longer will your reading period last? You can get a care package from bloggers.😀

    cindylu

    January 17, 2008 at 5:00 am

  7. Cindy,
    My reading period ends with my last final tomorrow afternoon, but doesn’t technically end until Wednesday.

    soledadenmasa

    January 17, 2008 at 10:51 am

  8. Diego, are you THAT Mexican?!!!

    If you want something you can’t get out in the East Coast you can always ask your hermano-postiso (Me) for a care package…

    Elyery

    January 30, 2008 at 6:39 am

  9. Elyery,
    Make sure to save your money. Thanks for the offer, though.

    soledadenmasa

    January 30, 2008 at 9:17 am

  10. Try not to take it personal. Its probably that no one can relate to the experience your having. Shoot, people probably think its so easy that you don’t have to work at a job, all you do is read books and study!

    I was in grad school for three years in SF. The only time my parents came to visit was on graduation day! Later it dawned on me that they just couldn’t relate to my experiences, just like I could never relate to their experiences of growing up in Mexico.

    Hope finals went well for you.

    TacoSam

    January 31, 2008 at 12:37 am


Leave a Reply

