Soledad en masa

Welcome to Harvard, Diego.

with 7 comments

Midterm season is upon Harvard. Students have their midterm exams and/or essays due (mostly) due this week. I already finished and submitted one essay Sunday night/Monday morning for my film analysis class on the film Metropolis. Wednesday I have a “quiz” (midterm) for my epidemiology class, followed by a trip to the Harvard Forest for my seminar on land change. I’ll be at the Forest from about 1 to about 8 (it’s an hour-and-a-half drive in each direction).

After that, I’ll have to write an essay for my government class that is due the next day, Thursday, at 1, and what other work I have for Thursday, followed by a midterm in my government class the following Tuesday. The problem is, I have not read a single thing for my government class since starting the class. The reading is so tedious, uninspired, and banal that I can’t do the readings. I am somehow scraping by.

I don’t know how I’ll be able to write that essay and pass the midterm without the reading. I tell myself that I’ll do the readings for the government course over Thanksgiving and Winter Break, but to be honest, I’ll probably want to do more resting during that time than reading.

I seriously despise the government course; I don’t enjoy it one bit. I no longer consider myself a government concentrator. Next semester, I will make sure to take a Spanish class, a music (hopefully, ethnomusicology) or anthropology course, a history course, and a government course taught by Prof. Steven Levitsky. I seriously need to better plan my next semester.

Welcome to Harvard, Diego. Suck it up. You’ve got four more years. This is only the beginning.

Written by soledadenmasa

October 22, 2007 at 11:18 pm

Posted in College, Harvard

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chuckle. My first gov course gave me the same impression. Ended up Hist and Lit instead, but got over it enough to eventually go to law school anyway. Hang in there!

    notoriouslig

    October 23, 2007 at 7:33 pm

  2. I looked into Hist and Lit and it looks real interesting. I’ll definitely look into it. I just can’t stand government. Agh!

    What prof was that class with?

    soledadenmasa

    October 23, 2007 at 7:44 pm

  3. I didn’t know what it meant back then, but it was a Con Law class with Abigail Thernstrom. The regular prof was off for a year. She read her notes for two hours and called it a lecture three times a week.Do consider Hist and Lit. It provided more interesting (and smaller) classes, better profs, and (I thought) more control over what I wanted to study.

    notoriouslig

    October 24, 2007 at 10:18 am

  4. Curious: what books are they having you read? If I had to pick a non-science major, I think Government or Political Science would probably be it. Sucks that you find it so horrible.

    HispanicPundit

    October 24, 2007 at 10:53 pm

  5. Notoriouslig,
    I’ve seen the Thernstroms’ book on racial inequalities in higher education. I can’t imagine having to sit through a lecture by the same people who wrote that tome.

    Diego,
    I thought you get to shop for courses? Why did you take this course, or did you realize too late that you hated it?

    cindylu

    October 25, 2007 at 3:31 pm

  6. HP,
    We’re reading Richard Neustadt’s “Presidential Power and the Modern Presidents: The Politics of Leadership”, Edwards’ “Presidential Leadership”, and a few other books and articles. I don’t find it entirely horrible, just not as interesting as, say, the study of Latin America.

    Cindylu,
    Yes, I did shop for courses and this one fit my schedule best. It was my top choice, but now I regret choosing it.

    soledadenmasa

    October 25, 2007 at 4:54 pm

  7. Ah, well they definitely don’t sound all that interesting…but I have never heard of either book. I could see how Latin American studies would be alot more interesting though.

    Btw, I read No Excuses: Closing The Racial Gap In Learning by the Thernstroms’, among their other writings, and found it to be one of the best books on the topic.

    HispanicPundit

    October 25, 2007 at 9:54 pm


Leave a Reply

