Soledad en masa

Four more years of mariachi.

with 3 comments

July 2000 – June 2003: Member of Mariachi Juvenil Amanecer de South Gate Middle School.

May 2003 – September 2007: Founder, member of Mariachi Espuela de Plata (I left it for college; a link to our MySpace page is under the “Blogroll” on the right).

January 2004 – November 2005: Member of Mariachi Aries de South Gate High School.

September 2007 – Present: Member of Mariachi Veritas de Harvard University.

The song I used for the audition: Jose Alfredo Jimenez’s “Te solte la rienda,” interpreted by Miguel Aceves Mejia. Here is the video.

Written by soledadenmasa

September 23, 2007 at 4:46 pm

Posted in College, Harvard, Mariachi, Music

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s cool. I’d heard of Harvard’s mariachi and wondered if you’d be getting involved (or if you needed a break).

    cindylu

    September 24, 2007 at 2:28 pm

  2. No cheating. We want video of you in full gear and singing that song (which by the way, is one of my favorite mariachi songs).

    notoriouslig

    September 24, 2007 at 7:51 pm

  3. LIG,

    Video of my audition? I didn’t wear a mariachi traje; instead, I wore my Stanford shirt (first clean shirt I saw that morning) and was sitting down. But if someone records me at a concert singing that song, I will make sure to post it for y’all to enjoy.

    “Te solte la rienda” was one of my last choices for the audition. My top choice for my audition was Juan Gabriel’s “La diferencia” but at the last moment I panicked and sang “Te solte la rienda”.

    soledadenmasa

    September 24, 2007 at 8:42 pm


Leave a Reply

