Soledad en masa

De los Altos de Jalisco salió marcando su paso…

with 3 comments

This Wednesday I leave with my parents and younger sibling to my parent’s hometown of Mezcala de los Romero in Jalisco. I’ll be there for three weeks for our town’s festivities and my cousin Cuco’s wedding. I come back on the 28th of August. I haven’t gone to Mexico in three years and I am more than happy that I have the opportunity to visit right now, before I start college and, in a few years, my life.

Last Saturday I had my final performances with the mariachi I am part of. I’m not the only leaving; Gladys is leaving to Humboldt State University this Friday. It’s bittersweet to see someone who’s a part of one’s life leave, especially if that person impacted one, but I figure that’s part of leaving to college.

Gladys mariachi traje

I wish her nothing but the best of luck at college.

Eh… I guess Mexico will the thing that convinces me that I have left my adolescence and am now, at least in the eyes of the world (not the law), an adult.

I’m paranoid about flying, but after flying across the country six times this past year, I’m more at peace with flying, especially when it’s only three hours long. I’m more apprehensive about ground safety, but since I won’t be anywhere near any tourist trap, I think I’ll be safe.

The title of this blog post comes from the song “El caballo canelo.” My family comes from the region in Jalisco named “Los Altos de Jalisco” in the northeastern part of the state.

Written by soledadenmasa

August 6, 2007 at 9:04 pm

Posted in Summer, Travel

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have a safe trip! Is the older brother staying home?

    I’ll be next door to Jalisco in Guanajuato from the 8th through the 12th. I can’t go away for too long — I would if I could — but I’m still glad I have the opportunity to spend a few days in my “happy place.”

    cindylu

    August 7, 2007 at 1:39 am

  2. very nice diego veri nice

    martin renteria

    March 29, 2010 at 7:40 pm

  3. hello

    diana

    November 8, 2010 at 11:01 am


Leave a Reply

