Soledad en masa

College, number three through eleven.

with 10 comments

It’s April 4th and I’m on Spring Break. I should be doing my work for Economics and I’ll get to it later. On to more important things!

Most colleges send out their admission decisions by late-March, and as stated, I received the majority on the 29th of March. I was accepted by all the colleges I applied to. I am still shocked that I was accepted by these schools:

  1. Stanford University
  2. Duke University
  3. UC Berkeley
  4. UC Santa Barbara
  5. UC San Diego
  6. UCLA
  7. Princeton University
  8. Yale University
  9. Columbia University
  10. Harvard University
  11. Amherst College

No rejections is hard to pull off, I know. I cannot believe I can say, “I’m stuck between Stanford, Harvard, and Yale.” I would have never guessed this would happen to me!

I am the only person from my high school who was accepted by an Ivy League school; all others who applied to Ivy League schools were denied admission or waitlisted. The only other person who was accepted at a similar institution was our valedictorian, who was accepted for admission at Stanford. There are a few who were accepted at U$C, though.

Now, I have to choose which schools to visit. I want to visit Yale, Stanford, and Harvard (in that order), but that would mean a week and a half of non-stop travel. I’d have to leave LA late on the 15th to get to Yale on the morning of the 16th. Yale’s admit thing runs from the 16th to the 18th. I’d then have to fly (once again, late at night) from Hartford, CT to San José to get to Stanford on the 19th. Stanford’s Admit Weekend runs from the 19th to the 21st. I sure am not leaving Stanford early, so I would miss the first day of the Harvard Admit program (April 21 to 23). To go to Harvard, I would have to fly at night to get there on the morning of the 22nd, only to fly back home the night of the 23rd, get to LA the morning of the 24th, get home, eat something, go to school, and wish my English teacher a happy birthday.

I’m lost as to what to choose… Stanford captured my heart back in November, but I could to go Harvard or Yale. I’ve been chatting with the people who are part of the Facebook Stanford 2011 and they are such great people! They are all equally happy to be part of the Stanford family. I really like them.

I hope to buy a digital camera and take a lot of pictures wherever I decide to visit. I’ve already made a friend who will go to Yale’s Bulldog Days (for admits). She gave me her number and we’re going to meet up and probably go out for coffee at Yale.

Daniel, who I met when I visited Amherst College in late-September, will also be at the Bulldog Days and Stanford Admit Weekend. I might figure out to travel with him from Yale to Stanford.

I am also a semi-finalist for the Gates Millennium Scholarship! I am to be notified later this month if I have received the Gates Millennium Scholarship. I hope to get it! I don’t want to graduate with debt, and they also pay for graduate studies, anything up to ten years after graduating high school.

Ah, high school… I will soon leave you, and it was bittersweet. These past two months have brought out the worst in some people, and the next months promise to lead to the breakdown of a few relationships and friendships.

As for prom…. It’s June 2nd. That is all I have to work with. Grr.

Thanks to all who supported me throughout the years (that means you, Fabián!) and throughout this year. I hope to blog more regularly over the summer.

Written by soledadenmasa

April 4, 2007 at 9:39 am

Posted in College

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats, Diego. Your brother sent me a facebook message and let me know that you’d been admitted everywhere you’d applied. That’s awesome! Good luck doing all that travelling and making your decision. At least you’ll be able to say that you turned down 9 of the most elite universities in the country.

    cindy

    April 4, 2007 at 3:28 pm

  2. Te felicito!! There’s a good group of South Gate folks at Harvard already. They’re ready to chat whenever you want (and one of them is a Gates Millenium Scholar). I went there from Bell ages ago and it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I’m in the neighborhood now, y si quieres, mi mamá y yo podemos hablar contigo y tus padres sobre la experiencia.

    notoriouslig

    April 4, 2007 at 5:57 pm

  3. good shit…i feel you on the ivy leagues, though i’ve already said no to columbia and may do the same to brown, though the temptation is there. have fun traveling and more than anything just enjoy your time there. i just got back from a cross country trip and it was worth it. though i’ll say this, it will be hard to decide once you’ve visited.

    tloctli

    April 4, 2007 at 6:19 pm

  4. BR, I already reserved my family’s spot at that reception Saturday.

    Hope to see you there.

    Diego Rentería

    April 4, 2007 at 7:33 pm

  5. Congratulations! Go to Stanford.

    The Stanford Chicano/Latino Alumni of Southern California are having a reception for prospective students next Saturday. Contact me if you want details. I can also answer any questions you might have. My husband and I both went there. (We met the first day of our first year.)

    BR

    April 4, 2007 at 7:35 pm

  6. Great!

    Make sure you introduce yourself to Mario Vasquez. He grew up near South Gate. I sent him an email about you. Again, if you or your parents have any questions, feel free to contact me.

    belen@stanfordalumni.org

    BR

    April 4, 2007 at 7:49 pm

  7. hey diego, i came to your blog via loteria chicana. congratulations!!! i’m actually a stanford alum (from a long time ago). i loved my time there, but you should definitely give the ivy leagues a chance, as well. what a great decision to make! felicidades!

    jennifer

    April 4, 2007 at 8:01 pm

  8. about the break downs and therapy for the Raza I know that have East coast for school – I qualify that with only the people I know, maybe they were crazy to begin with?!?! Really now I think the culture shock coupled with our own lack of a ‘solid identity’ Raza gets some real curve balls thrown at them. Once they come back home the juggling act of what we have here as a sort of oasis for Raza, especially in South Gate, and what they experienced on the East coast can break a person to some degree. We go from being a majority comfortable with flexing our identity, to being a minority who’s world view is not even considered at best and hated onced voiced. At 18 or 19 yrs of age this might have effects much later in life, especially when you return to being a part of the majority and you have to start dealing with another set of identity politics.

    Pachuco 3000

    April 5, 2007 at 9:35 am

  9. Diego, congratulations Raza! You have made people who you have never met very proud. Go wherever feels right; I can only hope our Mijo Diego has half the success you do.

    Eric Jasso

    April 11, 2007 at 2:04 pm

  10. […] College, number three through eleven – April 4, 2007 (After finding out admission decisions from the colleges I applied to) […]


Leave a Reply

